Our directors and trustees come from a variety of backgrounds—from business and law to conservation and veterinary medicine. Despite their diverse skillsets, they share one thing in common: a dedication to wildlife conservation. 

Officers of the Board

Red Fronted Lemurs

Glenn Solomon, Chairman and Officer of the Board
Ken Lueers, Vice Chairman and Officer of the Board
Karyn Brooks, Secretary-Treasurer and Officer of the Board

Board of Trustees

Elected by the Calgary Zoological Society, our board of trustees is made up of 16 to 25 volunteers. Trustees work together to create a policy framework for the zoo. Read our current bylaws.

Great Gray Owl

Angela Avery, Harinder Basra, Shannon Bowen-Smed, Ron Butler, Barb Carra, Jason Clifton, Barbara Conkie, Bill Fisher, Denise Hamilton, Jennifer Koury, Christopher Nixon, Sheila O’Brien, Randy Pettipas, Pam Somers, Owen Tobert, Roy Whitney and Hunter Wight.

Senior Leadership

The senior leadership team balances the complexities of animal welfare, conservation, education and, of course, creating world-class guest experiences.


Dr. Clément Lanthier, President and Chief Executive Officer
Greg Royer, Chief Operating Officer
Theresa Roessel, Chief Financial Officer
Steven Ross, Chief Development Officer

Alison Archambault, Director Sales, Marketing and Communication
Shawna Boyko, Director People Services
Jamie Dorgan, Director Animal Care
Darryl Dziadyk, Director Facilities and Grounds
Peter Findlay, Director Guest Services
Mark Hoshizaki, Director Information Technology
Dr. Axel Moehrenschlager, Director Conservation and Science
Adrian Hamfelt, Controller
Len Wolstenholme, Senior Advisor External Relations